June 19, 2012

Here comes the bride: weddings I wanted to see

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , at 1:00 pm by starsamaria

When you think of June, one of the first things that comes to mind is a wedding. June is the beginning of wedding season in the west, and thinking about how many people are getting married during this time of year has made me think about marriage in Japanese culture. Marriage is an important custom in Japan: 87 percent of men and 90 percent of women between the ages of 18 and 34 wish to be married someday, according to the National Institute of Population. Despite the importance of marriage in Japanese society, it’s interesting to note that weddings rarely show up in manga. This makes sense because most manga revolve around high-school-aged characters who are far too young to get married. Still, there are plenty of manga that feature couples I feel deserved to have a proper wedding ceremony, so I thought I’d highlight series where I wish (as well as many other fans, I’m sure) I could have seen these characters officially say their ‘I dos.’ And please note that since I’m discussing marriage that there are definitely spoilers, so read with caution. 

  • From Sand Chronicles: Ann and Daigo in wedding attire

    Near the end of Sand Chronicles, things seem pretty hopeless for Ann Minase and Daigo Kitamura. When Ann sinks further into a depression years after her mother’s suicide, she breaks things off with Daigo out of fear of bringing him down with her. After dating her friend Fuji and briefly getting engaged to another man, Ann’s life begins to be consumed by monotony. She becomes more depressed until she finally almost kills herself. However, Ann’s brush with death makes her realize that she wants to live, and upon learning that it was Daigo who saved her life, the two are reunited. Volume eight’s epilogue shows Ann and Daigo living on the beach, happily married and chasing after their baby. But after seeing Ann and Daigo struggle so much, it would have been nice to have seen the wedding ceremony as well. At least the series’ author, Hinako Ashihara, drew a picture of what their wedding probably looked like. 

  • After Kira Aso falls for bad-boy Rei Kashino, the two are threatened to be separated by everything from love rivals to brutal violence. In Mars‘ fifteenth volume, Kira and Rei decide to get married. Rei tells Kira that he always wants to protect her, so despite the fact that they’re still in high-school they register their marriage license. However, the two don’t have any sort of wedding ceremony – their friends throw them a casual party and give Kira a present of lace, which she places on her head as a veil. But Rei doesn’t show up because he was stabbed by Masao, a sociopath who has been obsessed with him. Fortunately, Rei lives, and a year later we see his father pestering him because he wants grandkids. Although I was happy that Kira and Rei were able to stay together, I wish I could have seen them get married in a traditional ceremony – but in a way, a no-frills wedding suits this couple perfectly.
  • In Boys Over Flowers a.k.a Hana Yori Dango, Tsukasa Domyoji, son of one of the richest families in Japan, falls for spunky lower-class Tsukushi Makino after she stands up to his bullying. At first Tsukushi dislikes Tsukasa, but over the course of the series But Tsukasa’s mother constantly tries to keep them apart: first by arranging a marriage for Tsukasa, then by threatening to have Tsukushi’s friends fired. But eventually Tsukasa’s mother gives in, and Tsukushi and Tsukasa are free to be together without any interference. However, this doesn’t last long: in volume 35, Tsukasa decides to take over his family business and go to New York for four years after his father collapses. He proposes to Tsukushi, who promises him at his high-school prom that if he returns a good man that she’ll make him happy. In Boys Over Flowers: Jewelry Box, which takes place one year after the end of the series, Tsukushi and Tsukasa get officially engaged. Even though these characters are so young, I couldn’t help but want them to get married because I love Tsukushi and Tsukasa as a couple so much. And I know I’m not alone: in one poll by Oricon surveying what completed manga series fans would like to see continued, Hana Yori Dango ranked number two, and one fan said that they would like to see “the start of a family.” Luckily, the j-drama resolved this issue: in the Hana Yori Dango: Final film, Tsukushi and Tsukasa finally tie the knot in a beautiful ceremony, giving me the wedding I had always wanted to see.

So are there any weddings you wish you could have seen in your favorite manga? Or are you content with seeing a couple’s romantic journey being left open-ended? And is the age of a couple an important factor in your desire to see them get married, or does it not matter to you?

10 Comments »

  1. Technically we get a glimpse at the end of Ouran High School Host Club of a wedding… but I would have liked to see it more fleshed out! And possibly a looking to the future… that’s the other thing I always feel sad that I don’t get to see (one or two kids!)!

    • starsamaria said,

      Thank you for commenting! Oh yes, even more rare than weddings in manga is seeing the couple become parents. I’ve said this before, but the day-to-day stuff beyond college is almost never depicted in manga, probably because it’s hard to convey in an interesting way. This is why I appreciate series that do show life beyond school, especially Itazura na Kiss. And I haven’t read the end of Ouran yet, so I’m surprised (in a good way) that the author went as far as to show that Tamaki and Haruhi get married.

      • Ooppss… very sorry (should have prefaced with spoiler alert or something). It’s a very sweet pic I was thankful for it!

      • starsamaria said,

        Don’t be sorry – at least it’s a good spoiler. :D

  2. simpleek said,

    I have to admit, when there’s a couple I absolutely love, I do in fact want to see a look ahead kind of chapter or even a few short pages of where they end up. I don’t necessarily want to always see a wedding, but I do wish I could see how a couple turned out two years or five years from now. I think the manga I wish I saw more of a “jump ahead a few years” type of scenario would be Imadoki! I really enjoyed this series a lot, and would have liked to have seen how Koki and Tanpopo got along after Koki decides to attend college in Hokkaido just so he can be with Tanpopo by the series’ end.

    • starsamaria said,

      I love ‘jumping ahead’ to see how the characters are doing as well, because I tend to get really attached to the casts of my favorite series. A lot of times authors jump ahead in one-shot stories that are published after the main series has finished (Hana-Kimi did this), and while the quality of these stories aren’t always the best when they’re done right they’re great. I actually really like that Sand Chronicles flash-forwards through time quite a bit – not only in it’s epilogue but all throughout the series as well, because it’s a great way to concisely to capture different stages of time. But even with these time skips, the author rarely changes the circumstances of the main characters too much, so there still aren’t usually any weddings.

  3. beckafly8 said,

    I second Mars’ wedding. We see their small wedding, but once Rei makes amends with his dad, I want to believe they did a more traditional wedding? I’d also like to see Ouran’s wedding and even Card Captor Sakura’s wedding. In xxxholic it mentions that they’re married, so it would’ve been nice to see theirs. The manga did jump ahead 2-3 years when they’re in high school so a wedding glimpse wouldn’t have really fit at the same time.

    • starsamaria said,

      It would have been nice if there was more to the beginning of Rei and Kira’s marriage than just them signing their marriage license – it’s slightly disappointing. I know what you mean about CCS! I almost put Kodocha on this list because I love Sana and Akito as a couple, but I decided that since they’re so young it wouldn’t have been realistic to expect a wedding. Of course, the series does have a side-story that shows Sana and Akito after they’re married…but there’s no wedding ceremony in sight.

  4. soaringwings said,

    I’m actually ok with a more open ended ending, but I do appreciate the “XX years later” jump (like simpleek). Oddly enough, most manga I’ve read actually do do this. And most of the ones that don’t end in a way that I like. The only ones that disappointed me were Tsubasa (for reasons that are spoilers) and Hana no Kishi, which felt a bit rushed in the end and I would have liked to see the characters actually working toward their goals more than the quick cut in to what appears to be XX years later, albeit it’s highly subjective and only 1 page, which is why I had such a big problem with this manga’s ending (everything was great though). Also would have liked to see an extended epilogue for Matsuri Special if only because I adored it and wanted to see more. That and I wasn’t sure what happened with a certain character in the end and the epilogue doesn’t make it very clear either.

    • starsamaria said,

      Several series I can think of skip ahead at the end of the story, but what’s interesting is that even though I like this, many of the series that do this I didn’t care for as much or thought were average (The Devil Does Exist).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

