October 27, 2012

Shojo around the blogosphere

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 11:29 pm by starsamaria

Hey guys, I just wanted to let you know of a few recent shojo-inspired pieces around the blogosphere. First is part one of a comic entitled “Shojo Reactions,” a very relatable story about what it’s like reading shojo manga! The piece was drawn and written by my friend Lucretia, and I hope you guys like it!

Next we have “I’ll kiss you and you’ll fall in love with me – Ramblings on Shoujo,” a conversation between Foxy Lady Ayame and myself over at the beautiful world. We discuss the presence of the ‘stolen kiss’ in shojo anime and manga, and how it is often problematic. Our conversation was inspired by a great post over at Tokyo Jupiter comparing kisses in the first episodes of three currently airing shojo series.

I hope you guys enjoy these pieces!

2 Comments »

  1. soaringwings said,

    Thanks for linking the comic. It was very cute. I love your friend’s art. :3 It’s also so true. Except the rival girl bit. My usual reaction is, “here we go again” and to sigh, but I guess that’s because the rival girl thing is usually done in such an obvious and shallow way.

    For the conversation transcript, I’ll comment on it on the site. :3

    • starsamaria said,

      Glad to do it. :D I definitely understand wanting to sigh once a female rival enters the story – I’m sure I’ve done it too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

