Cover-to-Cover: Itazura na Kiss

Cover-to-Cover: Itazura na Kiss

Cover-to-Cover is a column where I’ll choose my favorite cover from a particular series. I’m starting off with Kaoru Tada’s Itazura na Kiss, a series I’m really enjoying which is currently being released by DMP. I’ll be choosing among the six volumes that have been released so far, so let’s get started!

Of the volumes released so far for Itazura na Kiss, two jump out immediately in my mind: volumes three and six. Volume six’s cover makes me feel especially giddy, as it reveals that Naoki and Kotoko get married by presenting them in their wedding attire. The fact that Naoki and Kotoko are wed at the halfway point in the series is one of the reasons the manga became famous. However, as much as I flail over the cover image, I’m not a huge fan of covers that spoil major plot changes, simply because I am the type of person who will resist getting into a series once I know what happens in it.

As for volume three’s cover, there are many reasons why I love it. I especially am fond of the pastel colors used, giving the cover a ‘dreamy’ feel, which really suits the tone of the series. I also love the characters’ poses, and this is one of the few images of Naoki where he doesn’t look grumpy. And in comparison to volume six’s cover, volume three’s cover probably better represents the main couple’s relationship over the course of the series. So I think I’ll give the edge to Itazura na Kiss volume three, because the image and colors come together really well to capture the feel of this wonderful series.

Leave a Reply

