December 13, 2011

Cover-to-Cover: Sand Chronicles

Posted in Cover-to-Cover tagged , , , at 12:37 pm by starsamaria

Cover-to-Cover is a column where I choose my favorite cover from a particular manga series. This time around it’s Sand Chronicles. I remember when I first started reading Sand Chronicles in Shojo Beat. I remember thinking how distinct its art style was – it has a sort of rough, angular feel to it that sets it apart from a lot more ‘fluffy’ shojo art. Out of the all of the ten volumes of the series, my favorite cover is definitely volume 10′s. First of all, I love the color scheme of this cover. The autumn leaves in the background are a nice touch and really suit this series, which is so much about the passage of time and the beauty of the different seasons. And since I’m a girly-girl at heart, the fact that Daigo is covering Ann with a shawl and she’s holding a pretty bouquet of flowers makes me happy. It’s a really romantic cover, which is probably why I like it so much. The fact that Ann being in all-white (or beige) makes me think of a wedding doesn’t hurt either.

But I have to say, although volume 10 has the cover I like most, of all the volumes I probably care for its content the least. While I loved the side story about the childhood of Daigo, Fuji and Ann’s mothers in volume 9, I wasn’t so crazy about the story of Daigo’s teacher. Maybe its because for the final story of the series I would have preferred to focus on the main cast, and I just didn’t find his teacher to be so interesting. All the same, I still love Sand Chronicles volume 10 because I really love the series itself – its great to see little nods as to how Fuji and other members of the cast are doing. But if I had to name my favorite part of this volume, I’d have to say its the cover.

4 Comments »

  1. simpleek said,

    I remember reading this title back when Shojo Beat printed this in their magazine. I thought this was a good series too, but I lost track of it since SB ended their magazine run. I’ll probably buy the whole series when I get the chance.

    I always get excited when I see the cover art of a manga volume. A lot of the times the artwork has some subtle significance to what is going on in the series and it isn’t always a random, pretty piece of artwork to stamp on the cover.

    • starsamaria said,

      I really like Sand Chronicles, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it if you continue it. And I agree; I love when the cover art reflects what’s going on in a particular volume. I think the series that’s best at indicating the content of the specific volume is Skip Beat – the character (or costume) on the cover almost always plays a major part at that part of the story itself.

  2. moraina said,

    Omg where can I order all the volumes I have 3 and 4
    Im in need of 1,2,5,6,7,8,9,10.
    I really love to buy all thses manga’s to complete my collection.

  3. [...] sensing a theme here, because my last Cover-to-Cover pick Sand Chronicles also prominently featured beautiful autumn leaves. Nanami and Yano are adorably smiling – [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

