Here comes the rain again…

Here comes the rain again…

I’ve noticed that many shojo series, many important events occur in the rain. Whether the main couple gets some alone time and finally reveal their feelings, or they have their first steamy kiss, chances are the rain will be pouring – with no umbrella in sight. While the presence of rain in a scene is a sure way to add drama, in real life you may want to pour emotions somewhere inside in order to avoid catching a cold. And since rain scenes tend to be major events, many of the moments discussed below are spoilers, so please keep this in mind before reading. Here are some of the most iconic scenes that take place in (or because of) the rain:

Itazura na Kiss: This may be one of the most famous rain scenes in manga, and is so loved by fans of the series that it is simply known as ‘the rain scene.’ After Naoki decides to go through with an arranged marriage to save his father’s struggling business, Kotoko becomes depressed and starts dating Kinnosuke, who has always had a crush on her, in order to forget him. When Naoki finds out that Kinnosuke proposed to her, he decides to wait for her on her way home out in the rain. When he asks if she’s in love with Kinnosuke, Naoki gets so angry that he yells at her and tells her that he’s the only one she loves. She says he’s right but it’s useless because he doesn’t love her – then he kisses her and tells her not to ever say she loves another man. They hug, then rush home in the rain so he can ask her father for her hand in marriage. But as much as I love this scene, I have to say I think I like Naoki’s proposal immediately afterwards a little bit better, because it’s one of his few sweet moments.

Tsukasa standing in the rain after Tsukushi breaks up with him *sniffle*

Boys Over Flowers (Hana Yori Dango): Along with Itazura na Kiss’, this is probably one of the most loved rain scenes in shojo manga, as well as one of the saddest. In volume 21, after Tsukasa’s mother Kaede threatens to have Tsukushi’s best friends fathers fired, Tsukushi waits for hours in the rain to break up with him. When she tells him about his mother’s machinations, Tsukushi stops Tsukasa from confronting his mother by telling him that her leaving is her decision. He then asks if she has ever looked beyond his mother and his rich upbringing and instead looked at him as just a man. Although she thinks to herself that she’s seen the real him many times and images of Tsukasa flash through her mind, she tells him that if she loved him she wouldn’t be leaving him. Only after walking away from him can we see the tears pouring down her face, and she finally admits to herself that “there were many times…many, many times…she thought she loved Tsukasa.” She admits that she could only break things off with him in the rain at nighttime because the surroundings would hide the fact that she lied to him. I love the question Tsukasa asks her because for such a long time in the series, Tsukushi was unable to reconcile her feelings for him with his rich lifestyle yet this scene shows that she loves him despite this. This was the first moment in the series to make me cry, and one of my many favorite scenes between the couple.

Dengeki Daisy: In volume three when Teru returns from a vacation because of a typhoon, Kurosaki invites her to his house to make curry for him. However, he doesn’t have rice and goes out in the typhoon to get some. Because Kurosaki left his window open, the typhoon makes a mess of Kurosaki’s room and knocks over a music box Teru had given to Daisy, a hacker who has been protecting her from the shadows. The music box, which plays the song “Time After Time” lures Teru into Kurosaki’s room for the first time, and makes her realize that Kurosaki is Daisy.  When Kurosaki returns home drenched, a strike of lightning causes a power shortage, and leads to a tender moment where they hug and Teru cries in his arms because deep in her heart, she knew he was Daisy all along. I really like this scene not only because I’m fond of this couple, but also because I was glad that the revelation that Kurosaki was Daisy wasn’t dragged out for too long. I am especially fond of the fact that Teru wanted him to be Daisy because she already loved him.

His and Her Circumstances (Kare Kano): There are a few times rain leads to important developments in the main couple’s relationship in this series, but the most important is probably when Arima and Yukino have their first kiss. Although they had been dating for awhile, Arima and Yukino hadn’t managed to kiss each other yet and were still pretty insecure about their relationship. When it starts raining after school one day, they decide to hide out from the rain in the school building, which eventually leads to a conversation where Yukino tells Arima she’s glad she can depend on her. This causes him to try to kiss her, but the loud crash of thunder stops him before he can. However, after cooling off a bit they continue their conversation, and Yukino mentions that she wants to be the person Arima can depend the most on as well. This time they finally kiss, and this sweet moment is all thanks to the rain.

So what do you guys think? Do you have a favorite rain scene I haven’t mentioned, or do you find rain scenes to be cliché?

5 thoughts on “Here comes the rain again…

  1. The title of your article made me think of this song instantly and it’s been going through my mind all day (I saw your post in the morning, but only got around to reading and replying now): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cC9OhK2Ovw0

    Back on topic, I never really thought of this, but now that you mention it, I do think you are quite right. It happens in shounen manga too. There is the iconic memories in the rain for Bleach, which end with Rukia understanding Ichigo better and his head on on her lap (a romantic thing in Japan). Then in Kannagi, the anime’s climax happens in the rain. And those are just the two shounen series off the top of my head too. I’m sure there is many more examples for both shoujo and shounen manga.

    1. That’s exactly the song I was alluding to! My mom always sings it when it rains and it was raining yesterday when I wrote this so I thought it was appropriate.

      I’m sure it’s commonly used in shonen series because it’s a trope used in plenty of media – in most Disney movies action sequences or tragic moments occur in the rain, not to mention in novels rain is always used to set a certain forlorn tone. But I noticed that rain sequences in shojo tend to be romantic (or the *end* of a romance in some cases), so I decided to write about it from that aspect).

      1. Hm, your right with the rain being associated with tragedy. Well the Bleach sequence is up to speculation (and there is definitely tragedy in the whole rain symbolizism in Bleach), but I thought the Rukia/Ichigo bit at the end was romantic. Kannagi also involved the guy trying to find the girl after a fight, while it was raining. The make-up bit didn’t happen in the rain though, so I don’t know if that counts. I can’t come up with anymore examples because I don’t remember is it was raining or not in any other manga/anime. ^__^;;;

        But this has reminded me that the recent adaptation of Pride and Prejudice (the one with Knightly as Lizzy) had the confession of Mr.Darcey happen outside while it was raining. This isn’t how it happens in the book, so perhaps rain and romance is some recent thing? It’s really did make that scene more romantic though, so perhaps all these screenwriters and authors are onto something? xD

  2. I thought about the song too. One of those songs I love listening to. Your post is also fitting for the month of April since it tends to be the rainiest month for us.

    I remember seeing a scanlation version of that scene between Tsukasa and Tsukushi. It’s very sad indeed. But I have to admit, an angsty and rain soaked Tsukasa is incredibly sexy.😀

    I have noticed that a lot of the dramatic, romantic moments happen in the rain in manga or anime. Most of the time it’s nicely done. I suppose this dramatic device works in fiction, but I’m not sure if I would think it’s romantic if it actually happened to me.

    By the way, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://simpleek.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/i-got-nominated-again/.😉

    1. I didn’t even post this in April on purpose – it just happened to be raining outside and the weather put me in the mood to write the post.

      Hah, yeah I know a lot of girls who like seeing angsty Tsukasa. Including me.🙂

      I agree with you – this is another one for the ever-growing list of things that are romantic in manga but wouldn’t work in real-life. I’m actually surprised that people didn’t vote for ‘kissing in the rain’ as one of the top romantic manga scenarios that I talked about in my “So…Japanese girls like it rough” post.

      Yay! Thank you so much for the nomination! And it’s awesome you got nominated again😀

Leave a Reply

