The idealization of the ‘nice guy’

The idealization of the ‘nice guy’

Some fans of Fruits Basket still wish that the kind ‘Prince’ Yuki had ended up with Tohru instead of Kyo.

One complaint I’ve noticed among shojo manga fans is that they often dislike that the ‘nice guy’ never gets the girl. Typically, a female shojo protagonist finds herself pursued by a guy who she argues with all of the time, or who has a reputation as a ‘bad boy,’ and a sweet guy who is extremely loyal to her. Over the course of the typical shojo romance series, the ‘bad boy’s’ rough exterior will slowly melt as he grows closer to the girl, leaving the nice guy out in the cold. Some fans, however, dislike this cliché. The most common reason fans wish girls would choose the nice guy is because in real life, he’d be a much safer option than the bad boy. While love interests who start as jerk generally evolve into decent and loving boyfriends in shojo manga, in the real world, setting out to change a bad boy doesn’t work so well. In addition, the winning love interest often comes with a lot of baggage – a mysterious past or complicated family life – and fans see choosing the nice guy as an easier option. Another reason fans latch onto the nice guy is because of all the characters in a series, he’s usually the one who least deserves to have his heart broken, and you can’t help but feel sorry for him. However, I feel that most fans who root for the nice guy in shojo manga are idealizing the ‘nice guy’ archetype rather than looking at the characters themselves.

I always find it interesting when people say they were rooting for the losing interest because he was ‘nicer.’ Fans are quick to segregate love interests by labeling them; placing them into categories such as ‘nice guys’ and ‘bad boys.’ But sometimes I find myself questioning these labels. For example, in Peach Girl, Toji is seen as the ‘nice guy’ because his rival Kairi is a playboy. But Kairi saves Momo when Sae blackmails her, gives up on her so she can be with Toji, and risks his life to retrieve a present she gave him. In many ways, Kairi proves himself to be just as nice of a guy as Toji is – and possibly even nicer. Conversely, in Absolute Boyfriend Soshi is considered to be the ‘nice’ love interest because he is Riiko’s childhood friend, and because Night is a robot. But Soshi often calls Riiko an idiot and takes her for granted, while Night is never anything but sweet to her, which makes me question whether Soshi deserves to be labeled the ‘nice’ love interest.  And in Skip Beat!, Sho is considered the ‘jerk’ love interest because he was only using Kyoko in the beginning of the series. However, I’m hestitant to agree with Ren’s label as the ‘nice guy,’ since there are several occassions where he is purposely cold to Kyoko or he completely ignores her (and interestingly, Ren seems to be an exception to the ‘nice guy’ rule since Kyoko’s affections for Ren are greater than her feelings for Sho).  Thus, I feel as though the fans who root for the sweet guy simply because he is the ‘nice guy’ are only looking on the surface of things.

One reason I say specifically that fans who root for the nice guy are attached to an archetype (and not the character himself) is because in most series, the nice guy isn’t fully fleshed out. He generally serves several roles in the story: he’s a threat to the ‘bad boy’ for the girl’s affections, especially since he’s often smarter and sweeter – he’s ‘perfect.’ He also is typically the person the protagonist can talk to about her worries.  However, beyond these functions the sweet love interest is typically not a well-developed character – we know little about his likes and dislikes, and he usually doesn’t have a strong personality beyond being nice. There are exceptions, of course – it’s hard not to like Nakatsu’s goofiness in Hana-Kimi, while Yuki in Fruits Basket has many insecurities and goes through great character development. Yet despite the fact that they are perfect, the losing love interest often feels generic. In most cases, the nice guy’s reasons for liking the girl go unexplained – all that matters is that he loves her enough to remain loyal to her, and enough to eventually let her go. This doesn’t work well for me, however, since in order for me to be convinced that a couple is right for each other I need to know the reason why each partner has feelings for the other. Thus, I find it hard to understand many times how some fans can root for love interests like Takeuchi in We Were There because they feel so underdeveloped.

In Sand Chronicles, Ann chooses the average nice guy. Fans didn’t exactly jump for joy, however.

Additionally, it sort of bugs me when fans gush about how nice it would have been if the girl had chosen the sweet guy or how cute the two would look together because in most series, the girl has no romantic feelings for the nice guy whatsoever. In most shojo romance series, it’s hard for me to imagine what type of couple the nice guy and main girl would be because the dynamic between them is platonic, and there’s no chemistry between them whatsoever.  Just because the sweet guy is your favorite character or you don’t want him to end up alone doesn’t necessarily mean he’d be a good match with the female protagonist – or that he has to end up with her specifically.  And what’s funny is that as much as some fans complain about the nice guy never getting the girl in the end, the response to series where the nice guy wins is usually mixed. For example, in Paradise Kiss, many fans wish Yukari had stayed with George rather than marrying her high school crush Tokumori. And in Sand Chronicles, it’s clear that Ann was going to end up with ‘everyman’ Daigo right from the start, yet there are still fans who hoped she would have chosen the mysterious Fuji. So as often as fans say they want the girl to choose the good guy, the appeal of the ‘reformed bad boy’ storyline is still strong because it creates so much drama, especially because bad boys often have better character development.

But the most important point I’d like to make is that while fans say the girl should choose the guy who treats her like a princess because in real life he’d be a much safer option are ignoring the fact that in real life, nice guys are not like the nice guys in manga. While in shojo manga perfect guys like Kimi ni Todoke‘s Kazehaya are handsome, considerate, and kind, in the real world, the average guy is somewhere in-between the good and the bad boy, prone to moments of both stupidity and sweetness. Thus, the ‘nice guy’ in shojo manga is just as much of an unrealistic idealization as the reformed bad boy is. Having a guy who knows exactly how you’re feeling all the time, or is willing to give up everything to be with you is nice – but it’s far-fetched, and you shouldn’t expect it from a guy in real life. Just as having a cold guy become more loving is a female fantasy so too is the image of the perfect, sweet boyfriend. All of this being said, I have no problem when the nice guy wins – and I do agree that there probably aren’t enough series where the sweet guy gets the girl. What’s needed, however, is for the nice guy to feel less like a plot device and more like a unique character, with his own quirks and interesting background. Fans may never completely agree with who should end up with the girl in their favorite series, but I hope to see that the reason they root for a certain character is more than just because they are generically ‘nice.’

31 thoughts on “The idealization of the ‘nice guy’

  1. Most of the time I end up rooting for the main couple. There is very rarely a couple I prefer over the main couple. The one exception was Yuhi in Ayashi no Ceres. For some reason, I wanted Yuhi to end up with Aya. I think I liked Yuhi over Toya because he’s the guy who is always there for Aya, the one to pick up the pieces every time Toya ended up hurting Aya. I think Yuhi as the “nice guy” had his character fleshed out quite a bit compared to maybe all the other “nice guys” who are used as plot devices. He had his own personality that made him stand out. Yuhi also shows that he isn’t purely the loyal and self-sacrificing character you usually find in the “nice guy” types. He actually has flaws and isn’t perfect. To me, Yuhi is a well rounded “nice guy” character that doesn’t get the girl in the end.

    1. See, when the ‘nice guy’ character is well-done, I totally get their appeal. After rewatching Fruits Basket I liked Yuki quite a bit more than Kyo and sympathized with him a lot (though I wouldn’t say I shipped him with Tohru). I think there’s a difference between liking the nice guy and actually wanting him to be with the female protagonist – but a lot of people don’t seem to be able to separate these things. But there are people who will only root for the nice guys – even when they’re barely two-dimensional characters – and it just makes no sense to me.

      1. Same here, I prefer Yuki over Kyo; however, I don’t ship him with Tohru. I don’t mind the development between Kyo and Tohru either; as a matter of fact during my course of reading Fruits Basket, I came to ignore the Tohro-Kyo ship. I just like Yuki because he’s, well, Yuki.

        And I agree that there’s a difference between liking the nice guy and actually wanting him to be with the female protagonist. For instance, in Gakuen Alice, I came to like nice guy Ruka more than bad boy Natsume; but not to the point that I want Ruka to end with the protagonist Mikan. Nevertheless, this is a bit different with my case with Fruits Basket, because I look forward to the development between the main pairing, Natsume and Mikan.

        I guess I have an affinity with the “nice guys” in love triangles, maybe because I’m more attracted to their archetype. But I don’t complain when the female protagonist choose the “bad guy”, because there has to be a good reason between the relationship.

      2. I know exactly what you mean about Ruka – I think he’s really cute and sweet! Gakuen Alice is one of the few series where I think I’m a fan of both potential couples, but I have no problem with the ‘bad boy’ Natsume getting the girl.

  2. This is so true. I find it almost funny how people – even me – complain about the “good girl reforms bad boy” storylines because they’re unrealistic and potentially dangerous to young female readers, but then we tend to forget how the “nice guys” just don’t exist the way they’re portrayed in manga.
    Plus, as you say, sometimes they just don’t have chemistry, or the fans end up hating the couple anyway. I’ve heard that in Hana Yori Dango, Tsukushi was actually supposed to end up with Hanazawa Rui until the author changed her mind because the fans wanted it to be Doumyouji. (Although the actual “nice guy” here might be Kazuya-kun, wo is so unimportant to the storyline he didn’t even appear in the drama.) The difference here, though, might be that Hanazawa Rui has Shizuka – who, btw, is a nice portrayel of a non-bitchy rival.
    I did find the way HanaDan tells us Doumyouji changed through Tsukushi a bit over the top, but what I like about it is that she never actually tried to change him into the boyfriend she wants. She just gave him a piece of her mind and then hoped he’d leave her alone, and it took ages for her and a lot of change for him to accept him as a potential romantic interest. I also love that scene in volume 20 or 21 where she tells him she doesn’t want to be dependent on him because she wants to be his equal. I will definitely make my future daughter read HanaDan.😀

    1. I was always glad that fans changed Yoko Kamio’s mind about pairing Tsukushi with Rui. I always found Rui too cold and boring to see him as the ‘prince charming’ many fans see him as. I definitely agree Kazuya is probably the only real ‘nice guy’ in Hanadan, but people don’t usually take ‘geek’ love interests seriously (like Kinnosuke in Itazura na Kiss).

      And I think the reason Tsukushi and Tsukasa work is because Tsukushi clearly wasn’t interested in him for a long time, and doesn’t try to change him – instead, Tsukasa realizes he needs to change himself. Tsukushi makes it very clear she doesn’t need a boyfriend and is fine on her own – but the reason she ended up with Tsukasa is because she chose him. I like that scene, too, by the way – I think it’s important that Tsukushi sees herself as and wants to be Tsukasa’s equal because so many shojo series revolve around average girls who date popular guys and develop an inferiority complex because they feel they’re not ‘worthy’ of them.

      1. I don’t know, I really like Hanazawa Rui because he’s somewhat oddly funny. Then again, I seem to like odd guys… He gets a lot less cold over the series, just as Tsukasa gets less violent, but I guess those two wouldn’t have made as good a couple.

        As for the second part, I couldn’t agree more. I’m SO sick of all those Bella-Swan-complex plotlines.

  3. Oh, and I forgot Mei-chan no shitsuji. I can’t speak for the manga because I’ve only watched the drama (which I believe is quite different), but there the “loser” is actually somewhat goofy and fleshed-out and not just nice. I was really rooting for him, especially because I found the one she did sort of end up with a little creepy – and not just because of the age difference.

  4. In Marmalade Boy,Ginta was the perfect boyfriend for Miki,they both enjoyed sport activities,they had fun together.. but destiny had changed their faith and she meet Yuu who turned out to be a nice guy also.^^So..it doesn’t matter if the guy is nice or bad as long as the faith is decided right from the start.

    1. Ginta’s a bit more of the ‘nice guy’ because Yuu is mysterious and Ginta is Miki’s childhood friend. But I think what matters most in rooting for/getting attached to a couple is their chemistry and what kind of story can be told about them – not whether the guy is ‘perfect.’

    2. yeah i wanted him and miki for a while, specially since they had always liked each other. but then i fell in love with yuu and miki lol.

  5. A very interesting post. I thoroughly enjoyed it.🙂 I admit I’m sometimes guilty of rooting for the nicer love interest, but I sort of shocked with a few of the examples you list. In fact, I don’t consider Ren a “nice guy” at all. Sho isn’t a nice guys either, but I actually prefer Sho/Kyoko because they get along better and the power dynamic is way more balanced. In the end though, I wouldn’t mind if Kyoko remained single.

    Anyway, for me personally it is all about the power dynamic. I don’t mind “jerks with a heart of gold” as long as he isn’t in total control of the relationship with the female character passively accepting whatever he dishes out. I’ve got as much “bad boy” pairings as “nice guy” pairings so to me it isn’t really about the label I feel. But I agree on the final part of your post. The problem is we need more nice guy main love interests to balance out all the bad boy ones. Also agreed that both romances are highly unrealistic, although I think most people lamenting this are more worried about the negative effects of one over the other. And I can kind of see their point as if you think all guys are sunshine and roses, you quickly learn that it isn’t true when interacting with one, but how do you learn that taking crap isn’t good? I don’t think girls can be so easily influenced, especially if there are counter examples in real life (i.e. their parents, aunts and uncles), but I am sympathetic to why people don’t like the over dominance of the jerk love interest. It does send bad messages and could influence someone who doesn’t have the right kind of support system and real life examples.

      1. Thanks so much, and I’m happy you enjoyed reading this!🙂 I’m actually surprised you prefer Sho/Kyoko as well – as much of a jerk as he is to her, I feel like he and Kyoko are on the same wavelength, while Kyoko looks up to Ren way too much for me to think of them as equals. When there’s an imbalance of power within a couple, it makes it harder to root for them, and I actually think that this is just as likely to happen with the ‘nice guy’ (because he’s perfect and therefore ‘untouchable’), as it is with the aggressive bad boy.

        I don’t think girls can be so easily influenced, especially if there are counter examples in real life (i.e. their parents, aunts and uncles), but I am sympathetic to why people don’t like the over dominance of the jerk love interest..

        This, so much. One point I wanted to mention was that while I can totally understand why people have a problem with the ‘reformed jerk’ love interest – and I do too when it’s taken to the extreme or the girl is extremely passive – is that the jerk love interest is like fire. Most people know to stay away from fire, and most girls know that the bad boys they see in the media wouldn’t be the best choice for them in real life. But the ‘nice guy’ doesn’t seem to have any drawbacks, so in some ways the archetype sets even higher expectations.

      2. @starsamaria – I actually liked Kyoko/Ren at the beginning because I did like how they helped each other out, but as the story progressed and Kyoko started apologizing to Ren for every little thing, even when it wasn’t her fault, I couldn’t enjoy that kind of pairing.

        I agree and most of the time the perfect “nice guy” characters actually bore me! I didn’t like Tamahome for that reason. So when I say I want more nice guy love interests, I mean just regular guys with their own flaws that don’t fall into the “jerk in a heart of gold” trope.🙂

  6. I usually like the main couple, but in some cases, I end up wanting the other guy to be with the girl, because of certain reasons. There’s a novel series called The Iron Fey, it’s really popular, but I didn’t enjoy it much. I only read the first book so far and I’m in no hurry to read the rest. I’m still mad that Magen chose Ash instead of Puck. Neither of the two would actually be considered the nice guy in my opinion, although people think that Puck is the nice guy. Ash is mysterious and cold to Magen through most of the first book, but unlike fans of this series, I don’t like their relationship, I wish she was with Puck: he’s funny, he’s also a good fighter, he protected Magen for her life (she didn’t know that until she was 16).

    I usually love the bad boy, like Damon ion the tv show The Vampire Diaries, he’s so awesome. I also love Usui from Maid Sama, but I don’t consider him a bad boy.
    I find that many people usually like the bad boy type because he’s more interesting and more fun to hang out with.

    If i think about it, most of my fave anime/manga/novel boys that I like and want with the protagonist are bad boys or at least close to that: Akito from Kodocha, Kurosaki from Dengeki Daisy (although I’m only read the first two volumes, so I don’t know if there will be a love triangle in this one), Inuyasha from Inuyasha, Chiaki (I think that’s how his name is spelled) from The Kamekaze of Kaitou Jeanne, Daemon Black from the novel series Lux (he’s so awesome, I’m going to stop before I start fangirling, lol). For me it just depends on if the guy is fun to hang out with, may be cold but has a sweet side, and cares about the girl. I tend to love the couple that argues a lot, in most cases, at least in fiction, I’m not sure about real life, though.

    Sorry, I kind of got off topic.

    Nazish @ Nazish Reads

    1. Yup, arguing couples and bad boys are the stuff of fiction but I think most fans (eventually) realize that the things they love in fiction don’t work so well in real life. But in terms of fandom, I find it interesting that a lot of times the boys who get labelled the ‘bad boy’ aren’t even all that bad – they might be a little bit angsty or not as cheerful as their rival, but otherwise they’re good guys. That’s why I find it funny that fans are so willing to lump male characters into such definitive categories, when in reality some ‘mysterious’ main love interests are easy to get attached to (Akito in Kodocha) while others aren’t. Some are just better written or are more well-rounded than others.

  7. What a lovely written article! As one who generally laments that the nice guy loses, I really like the arguments you present against it. Though I would disagree with your classification of Ren and Soshi as being the nice guy. As you said it isn’t always clear cut.

    My concern with the female protagonist always choosing the reformed bad boy is that it almost instills unrealistic expectations into the readers heads that all bad boys can be reformed. Although not a manga, I’m thinking to the example of Anne Bronte’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall in which Helen (the main character) marries a bad boy on the delusions that her sole purpose in life is to change him. Long story short, the marriage turns abusive as Helen fails in reforming her husband. Now obviously this doesn’t happen in happy-happy shoujo-land, but it does raise concern at whether it’s sending the right message. Many of the female characters tend to be angels (though certainly not always) when compared to their one true love. Obviously I’m not saying that this type of relationship brainwashes the masses into being really idealistically romantic (though some would argue otherwise), but discourse is discourse. I can’t think of an example where the shoujo manga where that lesson of not all bad boys have hearts of gold in them. Unless of course you have examples.

    1. Thank you! I myself don’t see either Ren or Soshi as nice guys but I have seen many fans label them as such, which is why I used them as examples to prove my point since I’ve found myself questioning these labels.

      As for your point that having a female protagonist always choose the bad boy sends a dangerous message in real life, I completely agree with your concerns and I actually think that being fearful of that message is a legitimate reason why one would root for the nice guy (as opposed to more shallowly rooting for a nice guy who is completely undeveloped and uninteresting just because you know he’s going to lose). I think one thing critics of such stories forget is that the reformed bad boy story can be very well done – and that they’re not all like Hot Gimmick. So in my opinion, what’s most dangerous isn’t the stories themselves, but simply the pervasiveness of such stories, which is why I’d like to see more stories where the girl ends up with a nice guy who feels more fully developed than being just an archetype. But I feel like it’s sort of a chicken-and-egg question – is it that female fantasies have been influenced by ‘reformed bad boy’ stories, or did the ‘reformed bad boy’ story become popular because it already was a female fantasy? As much as I want to say having a ‘pure’ female character tame a rebellious male upholds patriarchy (which is certainly true), female fantasies, like everything else, are shaped by the culture from which they’re derived. So in the end, it’s hard to tell.

      1. You make an excellent point with your argument that it is unclear whether the reformed bay boy fantasy is a cause or an effect. It’s very eloquently put!

        I suppose my issue is not so much that the nice guy doesn’t win at the end, but that the nice guy is often drawn as being one dimensional, having no past history or having lived before the manga story begins. I think Fruits Basket and Paradise Kiss did an excellent job of developing the nice guy character. We see Hiroyuki being involved in past relationships and past heartbreaks. In Fruits Basket, Yuki has a dark past that explains his niceness as well as his tendency to keep a distance with that niceness. I was delighted that Hiroyuki ended up marrying Yukari. Although her and George had a passionate relationship, passion is not the only ingredient in a healthy stable relationship. Interestingly enough, I can imagine my younger self being a GeorgexYukari shipper. Perhaps this is my real issue with this type of relationship. Sure they might be filled with soul shattering romance that blooms especially among all the drama, misunderstandings, shouting matches, massive arguments, family feuds etc…. but are they practical? Do they teach women to have unrealistic expectations? Do they provide models for healthy teenage relationships? Really depends on the series. Then again, this is shoujo so fantasy is a key element here. If it were to emulate real life, it would be boring.

  8. well personally what i hate is the cliche bickery love-hate relationships. it’s just soo old, and a bit unrealistic if the pairing is older than 13 tbh. people also act like it means they’re so comfortable with each other for bickering…but why does it mean to bicker over petty things and name call the person you love is love?? it seems contradictory to me. when i had a boyfriend (long time ago), i treated him the way i wanted to be treated. i tried to care for him. i just dislike how such an immature type of relationship is *always* glorified and always portrayed as the better one in contrast to a more mature one. it’s just so overdone and not believable, now that i’m older.

    1. Thanks for commenting! I think this is the case for a lot of people. Older readers especially tend to find bickering couples annoying because in real-life, if taken too far, such couples would be dysfunctional rather than ‘the norm.’ I guess for me, couples who bicker all the time doesn’t bother me as much as the couples who blush and get really awkward around each other – I tend to find them to be boring and uncomfortable, which isn’t really romantic.

      1. yeah my bf was basically my best friend and we grew up together, but i always kinda liked him. it seems like a lot of love stories also portray friendships as firmly platonic like its impossible for you to be attracted to a friend and still get that “adrenaline rush” love feeling you get from a crush, but thats not the case with me…i’ve always felt spark with many male friends LOL. maybe i’m fickle. i still have this book by rachel vail “If you only knew” the characters relationship reminded me of my own first relationship even though they’re young. i really liked it. there’s bickering and teasing but they’re very much friends. i was reading the manga inuyasha from my sister and the lead couple knew each other 4 a week, didn’t get along and didn’t seem like they’d even willingly be friends yet in the third volume he’s about to confess his love when she almost dies just what the fuck.

  9. I always find myself debating with Rui/Tsukushi fans — probably because most of the drama adaptations “normalized” Rui when in the manga, he’s also abnormal like Tsukasa (but in a different way).

    But you know what I figured out? Most of these fans who would go for the nice guy archetypes would always insert themselves in the protagonist’s place. Yes, this is normal in the shoujo demographic — however, that’s not the case in Hana Yori Dango. Tsukushi may be my all time favorite heroine but I never once imagined myself as her. She’s a very unique character on her own because I don’t think any normal girl in the real world would still have the ability to forgive and be selfless despite the crap she’s been through.

    Also, Hanadan pointed out an interesting fact that reflects on real life relationships. For example, Rui and Tsukushi’s first date–which is very boring cause they have zero compatibility. And the sad truth is that I can relate so much to this cause once in my life, I’ve been CRUSHING about this guy before (he’s cute, nice and dreamy etc.) but when we started going out, I was so bored with the relationship cause our personalities and interests don’t match.

    1. Exactly – it’s very easy to say that the nice guy is ‘perfect’ when the girl he’s in love with is bland – the audience starts thinking of him as their potential boyfriend rather than the protagonist’s. This is why I said that it bothers me when people automatically root for the nice guy because of the archetype he fulfills rather than looking at the characters or the relationships themselves.

      Hanadan is one of the best examples – because not only is Tsukushi more stubborn and aggressive than many real-life people, but that Rui isn’t always just the nice guy (like when he tells Tsukasa at the last minute that nothing happened between him and Tsukushi to get revenge for him ripping his teddy bear years earlier). I always loved that the series shows Tsukushi getting over her first crush and making it clear that the Rui Tsukushi was in love with was more of an image she projected onto him (as the first person who was nice to her at school) rather than who he really is.

    2. That’s why i love hana yori dango. Because there are many things are realistic and the others aren’t.
      And i really find it amazing.

  10. I also dont understand why anyone would root for Takeuchi in Bokura ga ita. The manga has always been the Nanami-and-Yano show and has never pretended to be anything but that. Even with them being separated so long, I never doubted they would end up together and they did.
    BTW I mostly agree with your rant, even though another more practical part of me also agrees with jesuisawesome, this is fantasy, and I can’t help but love the streotypical good girl tames bad boy story.

  11. Having just read a couple of your posts I wanted to say I have no problem with every character getting with their love interest even if that’s not realistic provided that I feel each and every one of those characters feels like a real and genuine person. The point of many characters is to provide a role in the story. Many times the nice guy, particularly in an Asian written story, is to provide a contrast to the lead. It’s not so much that the bad boy is really mean or the nice guy is so much very nice, it’s about the perspective the girl has of those men when she meets them. Because many (because I haven’t read them all) bad boy leads do many nice things. They may have a sharp tongue or didn’t take to the girl at first. But don’t you find the people you really love inspires all emotions in you and not just the positive ones. You get mad at them at times because you care. Anyway, long ramble. Love your blog, keep writing please. Your thoughts and perspective really is great. I hadn’t found a good shojo blog before. I’m going to be writing some manga posts soon too so you’ve given me a big push to get those written. Thanks for stopping by my blog and introducing yourself! Cheers.

  12. I usually side for the bad boy in mangas because he’s usually well developed and has better chemistry with the girl. Fruits Basket was the exception. I loved Kyo and by the end of the series I was happy for him and Tohru but I kinda wanted her to end up with Yuki. I preferred Kyo/ Kagura but I don’t think she was given a fair shot. And in Sand Chronicles, I was rooting for Fuji. I felt like he deserved Ann more until volume 7 then I let it go. The nice guy vs bad boy never gets old but they could give the nice guy a little more edge.

Leave a Reply

